The Journey

This morning a good friend was telling me about one of her close friends. This gentlemen was diagnosed with a disease with a four to six months expectancy to live. After hearing the sad news, she called the spouse a week later to plan for a time to visit. He had passed away the day before. In our conversation, my friend said, “I just want you to know how I value our friendship and our time together.” Death of a loved one is such a hard and tender place to be. We have all been there and we all try to cope in the best way we can. We all move so quickly and when we slow down we find that we may even feel guilty for having a chance to reflect and take in the day. I’m not saying that we should abandon our present life with it’s responsibilities but my hope is that we can appreciate more and see things for what they truly are. With age, I have come to realize the importance of each day. AS the Hallmark card says, “Yesterday’s the past and tomorrow’s the future. Today is a gift-which is why they call it the present.” (Bill Keane) I have so much to be thankful for: family, friends, my health, etc. l think of our parents’era- work hard, save your money and when you retire you can enjoy the pleasures of your labor. The theory is a good one except that you need to enjoy the journey as well as the destination. In my profession, I’ve seen people work very hard and never be able to play with the retirement gold at the end of the rainbow. I do think it is about creating a good balance of all the essential elements of life: responsibility, health, spirituality, family, friends, etc. Don’t forget to take time for yourself and those you care about. Time is precious. With Thanksgiving around the corner, take time to reflect on the things that you are thankful for and celebrate these thoughts with others!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

